Sizing up the Green Jacket for 2017

The 2017 Masters kicks off today and since all golf fans enjoy making a prediction on who will win the first major of the season we have delved into some of the key statistics to try and pick out some potential winners. Looking at the previous years at Augusta National, there are a few statistics that stand out amongst others as being important to having a strong week. The first of these is Average Driving Distance, Augusta has always been a course that favours long hitters and this year will be no different, especially if the wet forecast is to be believed.  A second key stat is average proximity to the hole with approach shots, hitting greens is important at every tournament, however, with the extreme difficulty of getting the ball up and down at Augusta it makes hitting greens paramount. The third and final statistic that will be used to predict this year’s green jacket winner is Par 5 scoring average, the par 5’s at Augusta are all reachable in two and therefore it is imperative that you take advantage of the par 5’s over the week.

It may come as a surprise that a putting statistic is not included when trying to predict this year’s winner, however, putting is actually of less importance at Augusta than it is other weeks on tour. This was shown in 2014 with Bubba Watson not even ranking in the top 10 for putting on his route to victory.

In order to make our predictions, we tallied together the 2017 stat ranking for each player in average driving distance, average proximity to the hole and Par 5 scoring average.

And here are the top 5 predictions from our formula:

Player Driving Distance Proximity to the hole Par 5 Scoring Average Total
Rory Mcilroy 1 6 1 8
Dustin Johnson 2 3 6 11
Sergio Garcia 18 24 13 55
Hideki Matsuyama 23 36 2 61
Jon Rahm 21 20 27 68

Do you think we’ve picked a winner? Let us know who you’re backing for the green jacket in the comments below.

Happy Master week!

 

– Ally Millar, Commercial Assistant

 

Major Win or Major Distraction

On Monday morning after Dustin Johnson won his maiden major everybody was talking about his final round and how it was great to finally see him get over that major hurdle….
Incorrect, everybody, spectators and even players have been questioning the decision made by the USGA that has over shadowed DJ’s first major win at Oakmont.

On the 5th hole Dustin called a rules official and explained that his ball had moved but he had not caused the movement. His playing partner Lee Westwood agreed that he hadn’t caused the movement and the rules official with the group cleared him of any wrong doing and Dustin continued to hole out for par.

Unfortunately, through the use of slow motion review, USGA rules officials felt otherwise. They approached Johnson on the 12th tee to inform him that the incident on the 5th green was being reviewed for a potential breach of the rules, which could result in a one shot penalty. The outcome would be decided at the completion of his round.

Continue reading “Major Win or Major Distraction”